I Give It to the Universe

I created a piece (see the bottom image) as an auction item for the Children’s Hospital’s fundraiser that took place over this past weekend. The theme of the evening was “A Starry Night”.  Creating it became a source of healing for me and I didn’t even realize it until I was done with it. I started with something much different, then it progressed to its final stage. As I wrapped it up, ready to deliver it, I passed by a painting that I have on my wall (one I see every day – one I did after I finished chemo and radiation for breast cancer) and was surprised at what I just did. I drew my figure in the same pose, except she is in a different place in her life.

This was my “healing art” 10 years ago. See how depressed the colors are.. how grey and frail the figure is? How yearning she is… how broken she is? How tight the flowers are to make her feel secure… how distant she is from the light?

Bring Me Hope

And this is where I am today:

Image

’nuff said.

This is why I do art.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “I Give It to the Universe

  1. lauregreen@aol.com

    Sara this is beautiful.. This is remarkable.. and could be such an encouragement to others in chemo. I’m so proud of you Sara !!!

  2. jeanne mettner

    Wow, Sara, that is amazing. The first one (from 10 years ago) makes me so so sad! She reminds me of a lost alien. I hope you don’t take offense to that. Scott says I am allowed to feel whatever I feel when I see his art, but it’s not always so warm and fuzzy. 🙂

    I still love it. It evokes emotion, just as much as the new one you did.

    Talk to you soon! jeanne

  3. Dick & Jill

    Oh I do see what you mean!! The mellow ‘Bring Me Hope’ changed to to the beautiful brightness of ‘A Starry Night”makes me feel so blessed to have you back in health and joy!

  4. Sara, this is POWERFUL!!!! What a beautiful gift for you to see where you were 10 years ago to where you are now. Absolutely amazing. Thank you for sharing this.

  5. Wow my dear friend! Amazing!

  6. CynthiaS

    tracked you down when I came across this joyful image of the little girl dancing with the joy of the universe posted on the effortlesspeace.com website. love your work! sending you blessings! I think this girl should be seen by everyone young woman. she inspires!

Leave a Reply

